4th of July Plans – To Host or Not To Host

Throwing this out to my readers for commentary, maybe there’s something I’m missing that will help me decide this:

Should I spend the money/effort to throw a 4th of July party this year?

Here’s the thing.  Usually I invite my family and friends from my old employer (who are older and have youngish kids) as well as all my volleyball friends and some younger crowd as well.  It’s a total smorgasborg of people that I know.  It’s always been fun every year, but when I was injured last year I decided to skip it and it was really nice not having to do anything major, but a big part of that is that I was injured (I think).

I’ve been wanting to do a wander around trip on bikes where I visit all the 4th of July parties that are going on in my beach town with a friend or two, but I can’t decide if I should do that this year or in the future.  This is the only thing I miss by throwing my party, being able to socialize and meet a lot of new people at other parties.  At the same time, I do have a lot of people stop by my party who bring friends and I get social proofed like mad.

To give you an idea of how well I’m located (this is why I make everyone unload their shit and park far away), my place is a few steps from the parade route, a couple blocks from the main drag of restaurants and the pier, I can see a bit of the ocean/pier from my front patio, and the big fireworks show is visible directly from my patio.

Any smart commentary to help me decide?  It’s only just over two weeks away so if I’m going to do it I need to send out invites yesterday.

~ by aneroidocean on 06/18/2013.

4 Responses to “4th of July Plans – To Host or Not To Host”

  1. have the party

  2. Unless you truly want to do something different like have time to yourself, I say have the party.

    If you need time to relax, give yourself a day off afterwards.

  3. the best way to make tough decisions, if it’s between something “easy” and something that “takes work”, be careful of the natural human tendency for LAZINESS, it can affect the male hamster.

    or like i say, “the easy choice is usually the wrong choice.”

  4. fixing my terrible grammar:

    the best way to make a tough decision, if it’s between something “easy” and something that “takes work”, is to be careful of the natural human tendency for LAZINESS. it can affect the male hamster.

    or like i like to say, “the easy choice is usually the wrong choice.”

Leave a Reply

 
