Things I’m unhappy with

Health – Need a procedure that is costly and will have some significant downtime in order to be able to really be an athlete again.  I need to sort out how to afford it or how to get good enough insurance to cover it.  I’ve been getting progressively fatter.  I can tell.  I may not be crazy heavier, but my muscle mass is not there and my fat mass really has grown.  My diet has been way too much unhealthy and fast food/restaurant food.  This is disconcerting especially when having a pretty thing/in shape girl.  No need to give her reason to lose interest physically.

Finances/Employment – I basically haven’t built any side work into successful business in much of any sense of the word.  I take that back.  I did take some initiative and sublet my extra bedroom instead of finding a long-term roommate, but now I have a short term roommate in there without any huge benefit to me but stability and some time savings.  I haven’t made any significant progress on becoming self employed and worse, haven’t made any movement on becoming better employed.

Organization/Drive – This is an overall topic that I need to improve on in order to improve many aspects of my life.

I’m not sure which of these is more crucial, but I think they are both huge glaring issues I need to address if I want to become happier.

Last night I slept horribly.  As a sign of growing unhappiness I find myself going to sleep later and later (and for no good reason…I wouldn’t mind going to bed late if anything at home were better organized/addressed) and then getting up later and later.

The only slight positive in both of the above topics is that overall my health isn’t really horrible and financially, I have managed to stack between 3-4 months of basic living expenses if I were to lose my job.  Not super comforting, but it has been nice to watch that stack grow bit by bit.

So, now that I’ve laid out what I’m unhappy with (major items), the next step is to sort out what and how I’m going to implement actionable solutions.

I don’t have any specific long term plans, but there’s no better time than the present.  If it’s a priority it’s what you’re working on NOW.  Tonight I’ll do three things:

1. Grocery store to load up on healthy food on the way home.

2. Gym for weigh-in and minimum an hour of cardio/light weights.

3. Healthy dinner, plan/prepare lunch and snacks for tomorrow, in bed for minimum 8 hours sleep before work.

Checking in on myself tomorrow.

~ by aneroidocean on 10/14/2014.

2 Responses to “Things I’m unhappy with”

  1. Good post, man.

  2. Congratulations on catching yourself at this point. Most people don’t notice until they’re too far gone. Keep at it.

Leave a Reply

 
