Breath hold/Relaxation

Posted as a comment on Riv’s post here, thought I’d toss it up here.  A while ago I took a breath hold course:

 

You can let things go with breathing, too. You can hold your breath AND be relaxed at the same time. I know. I’ve done it.

A minute and I thought I could do more.

2 minutes and I thought I might not make it much further.

3 minutes and I thought I was going to go into convulsions, but I relaxed more.

4 minutes and I thought this must be it. I was going to spasm or pass out.

Beyond 4 minutes and the convulsions began I thought I could do no more than another 10 seconds, maybe 15. Relax self.

4 and a half minutes and I went a little zen. I was so far beyond what I thought I could accomplish, only seconds left and I’d inhale.

Approaching 5 minutes and I wasn’t going to make it. That’s okay I thought and I relaxed even further.

Just past the 5 minute mark and I raised my head up and I savored a breath.

I’ll remember that moment for the rest of my life. It was like being reborn.

~ by aneroidocean on 04/25/2016.

2 Responses to “Breath hold/Relaxation”

  1. Interesting. What possessed you to try such a thing?

    Wald

Leave a Reply

 
